Goals


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m 32.  I’ve got a number of goals laid out ahead of me.  Some short term and others are so far down the road that I can’t see the obstacles that litter my path, I just know where I want to end up.

I’ve decided to lay them out here for the following reasons:

  1. Accountability.  There is nothing that holds your feet to the fire quite like announcing to the world that you are going to do something.
  2. Networking.  You never know who is reading what and when, and I may just stumble across someone who can make these goals more attainable.
  3. I want to know what your goals are.  So I’m showing you mine, now you show me yours.
  4. Record keeping.  Presumably, I can one day look back at this and see what I’ve accomplished since the time of this post, and maybe give pause and consider what in the hell am I thinking?

So here they are, in an attempt at keeping them ordered chronologically:

  1. Run 7K (That’s tonight, legs and lungs willing)
  2. Run a 1/2 marathon – June 17th, 2012
  3. Participate in at least 5 of these this year. (runs hosted by MRA)
  4. Build a library in my home.  An impressive one.  Wing back chairs and Mahogany wood, and books of all shapes, sizes, ages and content.  Books are music for the eyes.
  5. I’d like to be mortgage free by November 22nd, 2019 (my 40th birthday)
  6. Charitable fundraising.  I’ve given this one some thought.  I was thinking I’d like to raise $1,000,000 by my 40th but I believe that’s a stretch, even for me.  I fully believe in go big or go home but considering I still work full time I’d like to raise $500,000 by then.  Obviously, my charity of choice would be Pancreatic Cancer Research.  To date, I’ve raised just over $100,000 for various groups and charities.  $400,000 to go!  (Here’s where the networking comes into play, anyone?)
  7. Retirement.  I’ve been working full time since April of 1997 (Just a wee 17 years old) meaning I’ve been in the work force for nearly 15 years.  I want to be retired by 2029.  Lord, that seems so far away.  By then, my daughter will be 30 (say WHAT? – Can’t wait to see what she becomes.  Amazing, to be sure) I’ll be young enough to travel and enjoy the time I have left.  This is non-negotiable. (Ok, maybe 2034 – but that’s it).  By the time 2029 rolls around, I will have been in the work force for 32 years.  How old I am right now.  I can’ even fathom it.
  8. $1,000,000 Piggy banking on goal #6, I figure 18 years is plenty of time to raise $1,000,000.  Let’s do this together.

So in a nutshell, I want to be a better, fitter and debt free.  I love my life as it is, and all the people who enrich it.  It’s hard to imagine improving on that, but I definitely can improve on me.

Well, they are out there.  Now to git ‘er done.

What goals do you set?  How do you remain accountable?

About MsBehavior

I’m a vintage loving, suburban living, book collecting, kitchen destroying, thrifting ninja, single mama of a smart, salty, sassy teenager. Unicorn aficionado. Flamingo enthusiast. Love all things sparkly. Connoisseur of foul language. Insufferable do-gooder. Big mouth. Bigger heart. Biggest backside. Begrudging romantic. Will blog and tweet for money. I make things. You can buy those things. Hey man, I’ve got bills. View all posts by MsBehavior

One response to “Goals

Leave a Reply

