A Merry XEXmas!


http://tinyurl.com/3xo6xag (in case you decide to bail before getting to the end of my love fest blog show)

For those of you lurking about on my twitter account (@MsBehavior if you’re so inclined) or a friend on facebook, you’ll have noticed my recent push of a Winnipeg band.

X-Engine-X (@XEngineX on twitter, find them on facebook or on the web www.xenginex.com) has been around now for the better part of 10 years.  Their main players have all been devoted to the music scene in Winnipeg for count ’em, 4 decades!  (Late 80’s, 90’s 2000’s, and now the 2010’s).

I wanted you all to see the more personal face of XEX, and understand why it’s so important to me to see these guys get the opportunity to shine at Power97’s Powerball.

First introduction is to Paul Skelly.  Lead Vocals.  

Try as I might, I can’t call him Paul.  You can, but I call him Skelly.

Next up.  Matt the Monster on Bass. 

Intense stage presence, intimidating skills.  All around nice guy & phenomenal chef.

Lead Guitar:  Mr. Myke Kurnell:

Making the guitar sing like it’s nobody’s business, Myke has big time talent on a small town stage.  He is also one of the kindest people I’ve ever met in my life.

Jerry.  Oh Jerry.  He’s a drummer.  What else can I say?

That’s me with Jerry.  Since A) it’s my blog and B) since his kit is in the back it’s often hard to snag a decent picture.  Here we are at the merch booth at a CD release party held at the Park theatre.

Jerry is undoubtedly one of the greatest friends someone could ask to have.  He would give you the shirt off his back without asking why.

Each of these 4 guys have been in my home, celebrated my child’s birthday, drank with me, laughed with me and in some way, shape or form enriched my life.

When the house was being renovated, it was these 4 guys who showed up to rip out my old carpeting.  When Myke got water in his basement, it was the other 3 who showed up to bail him out.

While I want to see them on the Powerball bill because I do think they’ve got the chops for it, I also want to see them succeed because they are like my extended family.

In March, I put together a team for CancerCare Manitoba’s Challenge for Life.  One of the fund-raising events we held was Rock The Walk. 

X-Engine-X volunteered their time and man hours to ensure our event went off without a hitch, and helped us to raise close to 16,000 by the time the date of the walk came around. 

Found a stage shot of Jerry!

X-Engine-X has opened for Godsmack at the Convention Centre, played the main stage at Shakin’ the Lake and rocked out at X-Fest.  They’ve played the Pyramid, The Zoo, The Park, The Central, and the Convention Centre.  What they need now is to cap it off with a performance at the MTS Centre.

You can help make that happen.  All I ask is for you to follow this link: http://tinyurl.com/3xo6xag, sign your name and encourage those you know to do the same.

Thank you so much, and Merry XEXmas!

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=XEngineX&aq=f

About MsBehavior

I’m a vintage loving, suburban living, book collecting, kitchen destroying, thrifting ninja, single mama of a smart, salty, sassy teenager. Unicorn aficionado. Flamingo enthusiast. Love all things sparkly. Connoisseur of foul language. Insufferable do-gooder. Big mouth. Bigger heart. Biggest backside. Begrudging romantic. Will blog and tweet for money. I make things. You can buy those things. Hey man, I’ve got bills. View all posts by MsBehavior

Leave a Reply

