Square waffles trump round ones


Much like carrots that are cut on the diagonal surpass their circular counterparts in tastiness.   So that’s how I sliced and diced them in my inaugural attempt at wonton soup.

Verdict?  Surprisingly delicious.

What I used:

Filling:
1/2 lbs pork tenderloin: chopped

2 oz shrimp, chopped

green onion

ginger to taste

1 tsp brown sugar

1 Tbsp rice wine vinegar

1 Tbsp soy sauce

Combine and let sit for about half an hour

Broth:

6 cups of chicken stock, wonton or veg I suppose.  I used epicure selections, it’s what I had on hand.  I added ginger, pinch of salt, soy sauce and rice wine.

Use 1 tsp (approx) filling per wonton wrapper.  Pinch around filling to make a pretty pouch.  Drop wontons in broth at a rolling boil

Not my picture, but it works

Not my picture, but it works

I then added carrots, broccoli and shiitake mushrooms to the broth as well (I don’t measure, I just toss the  veggie goodness in) and let boil for about 5 mins.  At the end,  I threw in some cooked shrimp, because I can.

When serving, add  additional green onions to your bowl, optional.

I’m pretty sure this is a versatile recipe, and you can toss in whatever veg you have on hand.

This wasn’t going to start off as a food blog, I had a good head of steam worked up about any number of other topics, but decided that I was in no mood for negativity.

Besides, there’s always tomorrow.

About MsBehavior

I’m a vintage loving, suburban living, book collecting, kitchen destroying, thrifting ninja, single mama of a smart, salty, sassy teenager. Unicorn aficionado. Flamingo enthusiast. Love all things sparkly. Connoisseur of foul language. Insufferable do-gooder. Big mouth. Bigger heart. Biggest backside. Begrudging romantic. Will blog and tweet for money. I make things. You can buy those things. Hey man, I’ve got bills. View all posts by MsBehavior

2 responses to “Square waffles trump round ones

Leave a Reply

